Author: Lois Lowry answers our questions.

Author, Lois Lowry was born March 20, 1937  in Oahu, Hawaii, The United States                                                                                                 

http://www.loislowry.com/   Genre   Children’s Books, Literature & Fiction, Young Adult

Questions

1. What inspired you to be a writer?   Jordan 

2. How many books have you written that have been published?  Dominque

3. How old were you when you wrote your first book?   Shaun     

4. What inspired you to write The Giver?   Krystal   

5. When you are writing a novel and hit a wall, what do you do to get past  it?  Matthew

6. In The Giver , what gave you the idea for such a sterile community?  Victoria

7. What other interests do you have other than writing?  Taryn

8. How long did it take you to write The Giver?  Morgan

Thank you so much for answering our questions. It is a great honor to have this opportunity to communicate with such a prestigious author.  The Giver is an intriguing novel that has led our class into many interesting discussions.  Thank you for writing it and inspiring us as readers and maybe some of us as tomorrow’s writers.

All our best,

Brenda Bailey &

Grade 8 English Language Arts Students

13 thoughts on “Author: Lois Lowry answers our questions.

  1. Lois Lowry, I’d never even heard of you until I’d read the giver. I think you are a quite talented writer to come up with that, if you ask me.

    Did you ever have anyone help give you ideas, for this book?

  2. 2025

    In 2025 I live on a farm that has animals like horses, sheep’s, cows, bunnies, dogs, cats, and I am also a nurse that works at the hospital. And take care of really sick people and try to make them better. I live in high level still.

  3. That’s awesome! Being able to to talk to Lois Lowry and connect with her!

  4. Wow! What a wonderful opportunity – connecting with Lois Lowry. Amazing!

  5. 7. What other interests do you have other than writing? Taryn

    I read a lot, travel a lot, love being with my children and grandchildren. And I am a big movie fan!

  6. 6. In The Giver , what gave you the idea for such a sterile community? Victoria

    I thought of all the things that cause us problems in our daily lives, in our communities. Then I got rid of them. Whammo! It became very sterile and dull.

  7. 5. When you are writing a novel and hit a wall, what do you do to get past it? Matthew

    I never seem to “hit a wall” when writing. Cooking? yes. gardening? yes. knitting? yes. But not writing.

  8. 4. What inspired you to write The Giver? Krystal

    That is too complicated an answer to reply briefly. If you go to my Newbery acceptance speech (on my website) it tries to answer that.

  9. 3. How old were you when you wrote your first book? Shaun

    I was 40 when it was published. So I wrote it when I was 39.

  10. How many books have you written that have been published? Dominque

    You’ll have to go to the list on my website and count them! I think the new one being published in the fall may be #40

  11. What inspired you to be a writer? Jordan

    Writing was always what I did best and loved most in school. I majored in writing in college.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *