What are you thankful for in your life?

osani 2

” I read a story about an anthropologist who proposed a game to the kids in an African tribe. He put a basket full of fruit near a tree and told the kids that who ever got there first won the sweet fruits. When he told them to run they all took each others hands and ran together, then sat together enjoying their treats. When he asked them why they had run like that as one could have had all the fruits for himself they said: Ubuntu, how can one of us be happy if all the other ones are sad?”

* Ubuntu in the Xhosa culture means “I am because we are”.

This beautiful story makes me reflect on all that I am thankful for in my life.     How does this story make you feel?

Write a paragraph about all that you are thankful for in your life. Follow the structure of a paragraph.

19 thoughts on “What are you thankful for in your life?

  1. I am thankful for :
    My family
    My house
    food
    water
    the things i have
    animals
    all of my friends
    and my education

  2. I honestly believe that there is a greater good in all of us and this paragraph proves that you are only have good as your weakest member, the way that all people dont even for a second feel any need to take more that what is given is truly inspiring and therefore I am grateful for all that has been given to me and all that will come, because i know that somewhere in the world there will be someone giving all that they have to someone that needs it more.

  3. Thankful
    I am thankful for the education I have, food I eat, the close I were, and a roof over my head. I am thankful for my life in general for there is children and family’s that don’t have enough food to support their families , don’t have close on their back , and have nothing but a box hopping that mother natcher is kind to them as they sleep. The people with no homes hope and hope that tomorrow will be better as they push forward. There are kids ages 12-15 that don’t even know how to count to ten. I recently watched a movie called Machine Gun Preacher I was based on true story and it was about a man how was trying to reach God and went to a place called Africa to build a church and a orphanage .

  4. The story I just read makes me feel sad because I have all this stuff and they have nothing. I am thankful for my family because they are caring and they love me, I am thankful for my friends because they are funny and they are always there for me I’m thankful for my phone and my favorite band one direction. I am thankful for all the people in my life that make me happy.

  5. This story makes me feel that people take things for granted and shouldn’t!
    Thankful
    I am thankful for my life, family, friends, and my education. I’m thankful for good memories, to have a roof over my head and for laughter with all of those I am thankful for. I’m thankful for food to eat, clothes to wear, and a place to sleep. I’m thankful for my education to learn and succeed later in life. Most of all I’m thankful for my friends, the ones who are there to help, teach and offer opportunities in life and my family for they are supportive and teach me to do the best and beyond the best. I’m thankful to breathe until I die.

  6. That story made me realize that we have so much, yet we will not share. Maybe humans are not so smart because we go to other planets not knowing how to feed our own planet. Maybe instead of investing in other planets we should feed our planet first. If you want me to say that what I have is amazing and beautiful, it is, but these children have a sense of love that is so pure and unconditional. Maybe we should stop trying to say it is them who needs help, maybe we need help.
    I am thankful for the warmth off the sun and the cold of the crisp winter. The bed I sleep in and the food I eat and the people who surround me with love .I love my freedoms to do almost anything from the biggest things to the smallest thing. Going in to court of law and just being able to get my ears pierced, to wear jeans.One of my favorite is do stuff for other people, like help or give ideas to help out .

  7. I am thankful for
    My family because they are nice, funny sweet and caring
    My friends because they are sometimes funny and sometimes nice.
    My favorite bands and singers because they have wonderful voices and amazing personalities 🙂
    Example: My chemical romances, one direction, all time low, pierce the veil, sleeping with sirens…etc.
    I am thankful for one direction leaked albums and songs because the fandom is that cool
    I am thankful for food and water because I don’t want to starve or die of thirst
    I am thankful for tumblr, and instagram because I can see pictures of bands and stuff
    And snap chat so I can snap chat my friends.

  8. I am thankful for…..
    A roof over my head, Living in a safe environment,The clothes supplied for me, Wonderful parents that love me, A brother that I can look up to, Family that help me through my good times and bad, Food that makes me grow, Presents on christmas, birthdays, easter and valentines day, friends in my life that keep me up when I am down, Im thankful for my haters, My teachers, EDUCATION, Im thankful that I am FREE!, Im thankful for the soldiers that fight for our country, For the people who have died trying to protect us, for Health care, doctors, The technologie today that helps people get better when they are sick, Im thankful for all of the wonderful things that I get from my mom and dad, Im thankful that I have MUSIC in my life! Im thankful to have a bed to sleep on, a house to live in, and most importantly, Im glad that I get to live on this earth

    The story was very touching, if I was one of those boys I would do the same because in class I dont think that I would be very happy if everybody else was sad. Even if I do not like the person it would still make me feel bad.

  9. I am thankful for:
    The presents I get on Christmas eve,
    For food in my fridge,
    For the clothes on my body,
    My parents,
    My life,
    The roof over my head,
    My friends (bffs),
    for my cat bootce!,
    a bed that I can sleep on,
    a car to drive me around,
    that’s what I am thankful for.

  10. That story makes me feel good but greedy because if I won it I would probably keep it for myself until it said, “How can I be happy when all the others are sad”

  11. What I’m grateful for: I’m grateful for my family and food so I can live and have a great life with every one that I love. I am grateful for my house because it shelters me from the big world. I am grateful for school so I can learn stuff for the future and so I can get a job and live and a have a happy life forever.

  12. What I am great full for?
    I am great full for in my life is my house for it shelters me from the outside world. I am great full for in my life is the food I eat every day, I never have to starve even when I don’t want to at least I have the choice. I am great full for the chance to be edgacated even though it can be boring at times. I am thankful for technology and for electricity. I am blessed to have such good friends even I don’t appreciate them often. But most of all I’m thankful for my family even though I’m mad or annoyed at them most of the time. But no matter how bad we think our lives are someone always has it worse then you. So always be greatful for what you have because you never know what will happen in the future.

  13. i am thakful for friends,family,food. a home to go to at night lots of people dont have that. holidays are very important to lots of people. im also thankful for clean water.

  14. i am thankfull for the world, the sun, my life, my friends, my family and i think its good how the all ran together and shared the food

  15. What am I thankful for?
    I’m thankful that I have a family. And that I have shelter and there are no crazy storms going on right now. I’m thankful for food, water and the technology I have. I’m thankful for my niece that’s healthy and on the way. I’m thankful that I’ll get to see my nephew in a week.
    That’s a few things I’m thankful for.

  16. I Am Thankful For…
    I am thankful for so many things in my life, I cannot even begin! I am thankful for the snow partly because it means that Christmas is coming and partly because I love bundling up in my snow gear and going outside to see my animals every day, another thing I’m thankful for, my animals. I am blessed to have such a big family of five girls plus my mom and dad as well as my grandparents who spoil us on sweets and treats. I am thankful for an overflowing amount of food each day and a roof over my head each night, a large circle of friends I have yet to meet and those I have already met too. I’m thankful for the chores and work I am given to do for they make me more responsible and skilled for when I live on my own and I don’t have to worry that I won’t know what to do. But mostly I am thankful for my life and everything that is in it!

  17. Thankful for:
    I am thankful:
    For my parents,
    My sister,
    A roof over my head,
    A bed under my back,
    Food on my table,
    For gifts,
    My BFF,
    The clothes I wear,
    My life,
    I am thankful for a lot of things.

  18. i am thankful for food,shelter and water because we are so lucky to have so much stuff to go through in a life time

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *